On Thursday, April 13, 2023, the PennWest Council of Trustees approved the reorganization of six academic colleges into three newly created colleges. The new college and department structure will take effect this summer, when the new department chairs begin their terms. The academic departments will be housed within these colleges:

• College of Science, Technology and Business

• College of Education, Arts and Humanities

• College of Health Sciences and Human Services

More information will be available soon regarding the leadership of the new colleges, the structure and names of departments within them, and department chairs. The colleges will serve all campuses of PennWest.

“I want to thank faculty who have provided feedback during the reorganization process,” said Dr. Brenda Fredette, interim provost and vice president for Academic Affairs. “Together, we are working to enhance the academic experience for our PennWest students.”

The streamlined college structure will encourage faculty and staff to find common ground and collaborate more readily across disciplines, expanding learning opportunities for students. It will allow us to communicate more frequently, consistently, and transparently as our university evolves.

PennWest has three vibrant campus locations, and remains committed to offering programs in an on-campus setting. Although some programs, mainly at the graduate level, are offered 100% online, most undergraduate programs will continue to be offered on one or more of our three campuses. These programs include face-to-face instruction with quality faculty.